Star trek discovery critical review

If 1998’s Insurrection found the Star Trek franchise suffering from what seemed like audience fatigue, 2002’s Nemesis — the final picture to feature The Next Generation’s crew – represented the onset of a full-on malaise.After over a decade of films that performed solidly at the box office and ran the critical gamut from great to respectable, Nemesis came as a profound letdown

Star Trek, one of the most iconic and influential global television franchises, returns 50 years after it first premiered, with Star Trek: Discovery. The series will feature a new ship, new characters and new missions, while embracing the same ideology and hope for the future that inspired a generation of dreamers and doers. This particular revamp of Star Trek: Discovery is more typical, less interesting, and isn’t anything terribly special. Matt Zoller Seitz reviews the new season of the CBS All Access series

16/10/2017 · I have been critical of Star Trek: Discovery from its outset, as it just doesn’t feel like a good tv show, let alone one worthy of bearing the moniker of Star Trek.. “Choose Your Pain” is precisely what I had hoped the show would be from the start and, hopefully, will continue to be for the future.

20 Sep 2017 Critics Say 'Star Trek: Discovery' is 'Good, Really Good' Despite fears that the review embargo was a troubling sign for the series, early social  25 Sep 2017 Executive producers and actors from 'Star Trek: Discovery' speak onstage during the CBS portion of [+] the 2017 Summer Television Critics  14 Sep 2017 Reviews of Star Trek: Discovery - the first Star Trek TV show in over a decade - are being embargoed until after the premiere episode airs. 12 Feb 2018 Star Trek: Discovery series 1 review: “a terrific central idea, even if the execution fell short”. The first mission for the USS Discovery was a mixed  20 Oct 2017 Star Trek: Discovery – Choose Your Pain (Review) Discovery is also the shortest season of Star Trek ever produced. combinations of the cast sharing the same physical space to solve crucial pseudo-scientific problems. Discovery doesn't really have anything in common with Star Trek. Rather, this series is reminiscent of a film adaptation of Mass Effect in the cloak of Starfleet. Star Trek: Discovery Season show reviews & Metacritic score: Before the Enterprise, the U.S.S. Discovery set out to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life and new civilizations, to …

Star Trek Discovery is such an UGLY show. Star Trek used to be so good to look at – good looking ships, clean futuristic interiors etc. Now STD is just so ugly – ugly sets, ugly lighting and all the characters look half mutilated that it’s hard to watch them.

For me ST-TNG was the benchmark any new Star Trek series would have to aim What is your review of the Star Trek Discovery Episode 1:04, 'The Butcher's People are much more critical and expect more realism, better writing, more beli. Compare critic reviews for Star Trek: Discovery - Aftermath #1 by Kirsten Beyer and Tony Shasteen, published by IDW Publishing. 12 Feb 2018 The first season of CBS' Star Trek: Discovery comes to an end with a reminder of its classic Trek roots. 25 Sep 2017 Star Trek: Discovery review – a darker vision boldly goes into the future It has protected our independence, which has never been so critical. 31 Jan 2018 Could Star Trek's new series boldly go back to undo the worst season and there's something very refreshing in the series' sly critique of the  24 Sep 2017 Review: 'Star Trek: Discovery' marks a welcome return to TV and upholds the legacy of the famed space By Robert LloydTelevision Critic. 20 Sep 2017 Critics Say 'Star Trek: Discovery' is 'Good, Really Good' Despite fears that the review embargo was a troubling sign for the series, early social 

Read what all the top critics had to say about Star Trek: Discovery at Metacritic. com.

Star Trek: Discovery finale review: A limp season 2 ends with a baffling bang. By Darren Franich. April 18, 2019 at 10:05 PM EDT. Save FB Tweet More. Star Trek: Discovery (TV Series 2017– ) on IMDb: Movies, TV, Celebs, and more.. . I had finally reached this show; Star Trek: Discovery, and I was very happy on every level, it's not even worth describing (just see what all other critics say). 13 Feb 2018 CBS All Access' show 'Star Trek Discovery' had a disappointing finale to Season 1. 16 Jan 2019 This particular revamp of Star Trek: Discovery is more typical, less interesting, and isn't anything terribly special. Matt Zoller Seitz reviews the  15 Apr 2019 Star Trek Discovery Season 2 Episode 13 Review | Such Sweet Sorrow Just when you thought this show couldn't get any worse, it does. Find helpful customer reviews and review ratings for Star Trek: Discovery: Season 1 Star Trek: Discovery: Season 1 [DVD] [2018] See all 87 critical reviews›. 24 Jan 2019 In case you missed it, read what reviewers think about the U.S.S. Discovery's latest mission.

6 reviews for Star Trek, 2.3 stars: “I have been following Star trek since I was young. I have watched all series multiple times (currently rewatch next generation again) and they never get old. I have seen a few episodes of Discovery and waiting for Picard to start.” 24/10/2017 · Star Trek: Discovery seems to have officially found its footing, as “Lethe” displays it is possible to mix in the shows new, darker direction with the foundation of the franchise it was built on. This episode begins after a “logic extremist” critically wounds Sarek – Michael Burnham’s adoptive Vulcan father – a mission to save him occurs. 04/10/2018 · Referenced in Star Trek: Discovery: Such Sweet Sorrow (2019 turns into something unexpected, and far less sinister. The story is not critical to any Star Trek plot, but it does showcase the personality of Tilly, the featured character. 18 of 36 people … ‘Discovery’ May Be the ‘Star Trek’ that Gets Humanity Right In its next chapter, the classic sci-fi series looks to clear the blind spots from its utopian vision. Geoffrey Reiter October 3 Star Trek: Discovery's Robot-Looking Crew Member, Explained. It turns out that USS Discovery's mysterious bridge crew member isn't actually a robot but a human unlike we've seen before on Star Trek. STAR TREK DISCOVERY season 2 has been officially confirmed by CBS but when is the new series released? We’ve got everything you need to know including cast, trailer, plot and more. 'Star Trek: Discovery' Alex Kurtzman discusses the aftermath of the season two finale and the state of the franchise as a whole.

18 Apr 2019 Star Trek put Michael Burnam, Captain Pike, Spock and the rest of the Discovery crew's It's like they are reading my loving-but-critical tweets! 23 Jan 2020 Even Star Trek: Discovery, while a franchise extension rather than a revival, suffered from this problem when it debuted a couple of years back  17 Jan 2019 NPR TV critic Eric Deggans says this season is good enough to win over even the most loyal and skeptical "Trek" fans. ERIC DEGGANS, BYLINE:  than a decade. IT news, reviews, and analysis. CBS All Access confirms Star Trek: Discovery spinoff with Michelle Yeoh. Season 2 of Star New trailer for Star Trek: Discovery S2 gives us a young bearded Spock The advertising you see is critical to our ability to fund the high-quality content you expect. We strive to   For me ST-TNG was the benchmark any new Star Trek series would have to aim What is your review of the Star Trek Discovery Episode 1:04, 'The Butcher's People are much more critical and expect more realism, better writing, more beli. Compare critic reviews for Star Trek: Discovery - Aftermath #1 by Kirsten Beyer and Tony Shasteen, published by IDW Publishing. 12 Feb 2018 The first season of CBS' Star Trek: Discovery comes to an end with a reminder of its classic Trek roots.

18 Apr 2019 Star Trek put Michael Burnam, Captain Pike, Spock and the rest of the Discovery crew's It's like they are reading my loving-but-critical tweets!

18 Apr 2019 Star Trek put Michael Burnam, Captain Pike, Spock and the rest of the Discovery crew's It's like they are reading my loving-but-critical tweets! 23 Jan 2020 Even Star Trek: Discovery, while a franchise extension rather than a revival, suffered from this problem when it debuted a couple of years back  17 Jan 2019 NPR TV critic Eric Deggans says this season is good enough to win over even the most loyal and skeptical "Trek" fans. ERIC DEGGANS, BYLINE:  than a decade. IT news, reviews, and analysis. CBS All Access confirms Star Trek: Discovery spinoff with Michelle Yeoh. Season 2 of Star New trailer for Star Trek: Discovery S2 gives us a young bearded Spock The advertising you see is critical to our ability to fund the high-quality content you expect. We strive to   For me ST-TNG was the benchmark any new Star Trek series would have to aim What is your review of the Star Trek Discovery Episode 1:04, 'The Butcher's People are much more critical and expect more realism, better writing, more beli.